TRUST National Art Competition On the Theme of The Outsider

In presenting this topic, the theme of Trust’s own work on a daily basis we opened with a question as follows:

But who is an outsider? Daily we meet people who feel they are outsiders in our world. But everyone is important regardless of where you live, the colour of your skin, the music you like, the school you go to, your religion and everything that makes you a distinctive individual.

We invited students to express their feelings about what it means to be an outsider through art. There is nothing obvious about many who fall into the category of outsider. We believe that by exploring and considering this question of who is an outsider we may all come to recognise that in many ways we are all outsiders to a greater or lesser degree. To that extent we all have the power, even in a small way, through better understanding help to create a society in which everyone is made to feel welcome.


  • Bernadette Madden, Batik Artist (Chairperson)
  • Ciarán Benson, Prof. of Psychology, UCD / Former Chair of the Arts Council
  • Gerard Byrne, Actor – best known as “Malachy” in Fair City
  • Maura Clancy, Assistant Chief Inspector, Dept. of Education and Science
  • Anne Daly, Award Winning Journalist and Filmmaker, Co-founder of Esperanza Productions and co-producer of “A FRAGILE CITY”
  • Eddie D’Arcy, Team Leader, Youth Services, RONANSTOWN
  • The Honourable Desmond Guinness, Co-Founder of the Irish Georgian Society, writer and lecturer on architectural preservation.
  • Alice Leahy, Director & Co-Founder of TRUST
  • Marian Moloney, Language Teacher, Tour Co-ordinator and voluntary Community Arts Promoter
  • Padraig O’Moráin, Health and Social Affairs Journalist
  • John Quinn, RTE Radio 1, Award Winning Radio Producer and Broadcaster on Education issues
  • Her Excellency, Melanie Verwoerd, Ambassador of the Republic of South Africa


There will be five overall prizes:

  • Special Merit Award for the best entry received from a student in First to Third Year.
  • Special Merit Award for the best entry received from a Transition Year Student.
  • Special Merit Award for the best entry from a Fifth or Sixth Year Student (or Fourth & Fifth Year in schools that do not run the Transition Year Programme.)
  • Special Merit Award for the best entry received from a Youthreach student.
  • Overall Winner will be selected from all entries received from First to Leaving Cert Year.

Each Special Merit Award Winner will receive a digital camera, with the overall winner receiving a laptop. All short listed entrants will receive a special Certificate of Merit and be included in our national exhibition. All schools from which winning and short listed entries are drawn will also each receive a Certificate of Merit.

Closing Date

Monday, March 31st, 2003.